Synchronize with modified file instead of overwriting
KeePass for Windows handles the case that multiple users modify the same KeePass kdbx file at once (through Dropbox, etc) by checking for modification each time the file is saved. If it's been modified since the last save, the program gives the option to synchronize the changes instead of overwriting what is on the disk.
See http://keepass.info/help/v2/sync.html for more information.
#2 Updated by Francois Ferrand about 5 years ago
Pull request submitted: https://github.com/keepassx/keepassx/pull/12
This patch does not really implement merging; instead, it asks to reload the database when the window gets activated. This should work most of the time, i.e. long as people are not modifying the file on two systems at the same time, and KeePassX is configured to save the database after each modification.
#3 Updated by Ondřej Kudlík about 4 years ago
Synchronizing (same way as keepass2 on windows) is only feature which prohibits me and my colleagues to use keepassx. We need to access shared databases in same time and change them too.
I'm not able to provide code myself but I'll be happy to test it or help in another way. Keepass2 with its mono is huge pain to use on linux.
#4 Updated by Callum Macdonald over 3 years ago
Any progress on this? I checked the PR and it looks like there's working code for this feature. Would be a really nice to have. I'm using KeepassX on two OSX machines, syncing the database, and this feature would prevent the risk of overwriting records.
#6 Updated by Robert Updegraff about 3 years ago
Synchronization is a must for me as well. I share a keepass DB with at least 2 Windows users at a time and must be able to sync to assure we don't step on each others updates.
I would be willing to help out with testing of this feature. I wish I could help with the actual coding, but that is a skill where I'm very much still an amateur.
Thanks for your consideration!
#10 Updated by Bill Smithem over 2 years ago
Was excited to discover that the 2.0 compatible version was released. Then very disappointed to discover that the lack of sync makes it unusable unless use is restricted to a single device.
Without sync, the risk of damaging the database by overwriting changes is too high to use it.